Skip to main content

Commissions to Michael Pelzel and Tobias Krebs

Ensemble airborne extended, Wien (AT)

Two new works by composers Michael Pelzel (*1978) and Tobias Krebs (*1993) are being created for the Swiss debut of the Viennese ensemble airborne extended, made possible by the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation. In March 2024, the ensemble will perform in Lausanne and, in addition to the two world premieres, will play some of the most important works that have been created for airborne extended in recent years.

Airborne extended is an internationally active ensemble for contemporary and experimental sound art in the unusual instrumentation of transverse flutes, harp, recorders/paetzold and harpsichord. Expanded by objects, electronics, media and performance, it offers a wide range of new sound spectra and inspires composers and audiences worldwide. For the ensemble, the production of new works is above all a fruitful creative exchange and musical research both between composers of different generations and the performers of the group itself. Since 2013, airborne extended has premiered more than 90 works written specifically for the quartet, collaborating with some of the most interesting composers of our time.

Further information:


March 4, 2024
BCV Concert Hall, Lausanne

May 17, 2024
Jesuitenkirche, Vienna