Skip to main content

Four commissions

ensemble unitedberlin (DE)

The consequences of the coronavirus pandemic are giving rise to increasingly important questions for organizers and artists: How do we perceive real experiences from performative arts, how will we perceive them in the future?

Live or stream? deals with these questions  a concert series in difficult times at Konzerthaus Berlin. Arne Gieshoff (*1988), Annette Schlünz (*1964), Bernd Richard Deutsch (*1977) and Detlev Glanert (*1960) are each in possession of a carte blanche for the organization of one concert evening  albeit with an obligatory framework, so that relationships to the situation in Vienna in the 1920s and to Schönberg's activities become clear. In addition to the concerts, there will also be discussions with Nuria Schönberg-Nono, Melanie Wald-Fuhrmann, Holger Noltze and Jürgen Brandhorst. The Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation is making the four commissions possible.

Arne Gieshoff's work Rauhnächte will be premiered on January 6, 2024. The Rauhnächte are twelve nights around the turn of the year. At their end, the stormy powers of midwinter are supposed to disappear. They determine the weather for the coming year.  It is the time of spirits and demons, of banishing ghosts and premonitions. Animals begin to speak. Rauhnächte is incantation music, wildly intoxicating music of transformation and a double concert for keyboard, piano, ensemble and live electronics.

Further information:


January 6, 2024
Villa Elisabeth, Berlin