Skip to main content

Commissions to Chaya Czernowin, Samir Odeh-Tamimi and Johannes Maria Staud

Münchener Kammerorchester (DE)

Following the first collaboration between Johannes Maria Staud and the Münchener Kammerorchester (MKO) in 2019, which resulted in the composition Terra Pinguis, sponsored by the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation and acclaimed by the press and public, the MKO has awarded a second commission to the Austrian composer, also made possible by the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation. The new string orchestra work will be premiered in September 2024 at the Tyrolean festival Klangspuren Schwaz under the direction of Bas Wiegers and will also be heard in the Prinzregententheater on May 22, 2025.

The collaboration with Chaya Czernowin as part of her portrait of a female composer in the Nachtmusik der Moderne series also gave rise to the desire for a commission. The new work, a violin concerto made possible by the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation, will be premiered in April 2024 at the Prinzregententheater. The evening's soloist is Ilya Gringolts, the conductor is Bas Wiegers, who was also the conductor of the portrait of the composer and, as Associated Conductor of the MKO, has immersed himself deeply in Czernowin's work. The co-commissioner of the Munich Chamber Orchestra is the Musikkollegium Winterthur, which will premiere the work in Switzerland with Matthias Pintscher.

Samir Odeh-Tamimi's new work will be composed explicitly for string orchestra without a conductor and will be premiered in January 2024 with Daniel Giglberger as concertmaster. This commission, made possible by the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation, is part of a new series of commissions that the MKO has been awarding for its string orchestra line-up without conductor since the 2014/15 season.

Further information:


January 25, 2024
Prinzregententheater, Munich

April 18, 2024
Prinzregententheater, Munich

May 22, 2025
Prinzregententheater, Munich

September 8, 2024
Klangspuren Schwaz