Skip to main content
Der Komponist György Ligeti sitzt an einem Tisch

Publication: György Ligeti – Selected Writings

Paul Sacher Foundation, Basel (CH)

Since the publication of György Ligeti's Gesammelte Schriften in two volumes (2007), an English edition has been a desideratum for international Ligeti researchers and a broad public. To mark the centenary of Ligeti's birth in 2023, a reasoned selection of the texts is to appear in a volume made possible by the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation.

György Ligeti's writings span a wide range of topics and issues: from the first essays on Bartók and Romanian folk music, written while still in Hungary, to analyses of the music of Webern, Boulez, and others, to autobiographical outlines, homages to colleagues and witty speeches, the broad spectrum of his fascinating reflections spans. Ligeti's texts reflect his own musical cosmos, which has steadily expanded over the decades in terms of historical depth, geographical breadth, and stylistic diversity.

Paul Griffiths, a renowned English musicologist who has published a profound monograph on Ligeti, and Edmund Griffiths, an experienced translator, are compiling the Selected Writings. The Paul Sacher Foundation is providing academic support for the edition with Heidy Zimmermann. The University of California Press publishes the book in the series California Studies in 20th Century Music.

Further information: