Miller Theatre, Photo: Matthew Murphy


Composer Portraits

Miller Theatre at Columbia University, New York City, USA

The Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation supports the 2012-13 Composer Portraits series at Miller Theater at Columbia University, featuring the composers John Cage, Jonathan Harvey, Olga Neuwirth, Sofia Gubaidulina, Enno Poppe, Rebecca Saunders, Oliver Knussen, and Julio Estrada. Each concert serves as a full-evening showcase of a single composer’s work, a focused programming concept that welcomes new music experts and novices alike. The series is curated by Executive Director Melissa Smey, known for her dedication to audience development and for programming a diverse group of composers from Europe and the Americas. The series will include two world premieres of pieces by Enno Poppe and Julio Estrada, and three United States premieres. The concerts will feature several top American ensembles, including the International Contemporary Ensemble, Ensemble Signal, Either/Or, the JACK Quartet, and Yarn/Wire. 
Many of the composers will join the concert series to work closely with the musicians and participate in onstage discussions about their work. These conversations, cited by audience members as one of the highlights of the concert-going experience, are facilitated by experts such as Ara Guzelimian, provost and dean of The Juilliard School; and John Schaefer, music journalist and host of WNYC’s Soundcheck and New Sounds.

September 20, 2012 – February 23, 2013
Miller Theatre, New York City, USA

Further Information: