Composers' Prize Winners Concert

presented by Bavarian Radio's musica viva series 

Friday, October 1, 2021

Streamed live from Prinzregententheater, Munich, starting 6 pm

Between the two concerts the livestream will show the portrait films of the six composer prize winners.

Download or scroll the program booklet.

Ensemble Modern
Einat Aronstein, soprano
Dietmar Wiesner, flute
Conductor: David Niemann

In 2021, the three Composers' Prizes of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation are awarded to Malte Giesen (Germany), Mirela Ivičević (Croatia), and Yair Klartag (Israel). The awards for promising young composers are endowed with 35,000 euros each. In addition, the young artists will receive an individually produced portrait CD of high quality, which will be released in the series of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation by the Viennese label KAIROS.

The three composers will be presented on October 1, 2021, together with the Composers' Prize Winners of 2020, Samir Amarouch (France), Catherine Lamb (United States) and Francesca Verunelli (Italy). The two concerts will be presented by Bavarian Radio’s musica viva series at the Prinzregententheater in Munich. The Ensemble Modern will perform under the conduction of David Niemann.


CONCERT 6.00 pm

Mirela Ivičević
Sweet Dreams (2019)
for ensemble


Yair Klartag
Rationale (2021)
for soprano and ensemble
soprano: Einat Aronstein 


Catherine Lamb
Prisma Interius V (2017)
for synthesizer / harp, bass clarinet, wine glasses / strings


Samir Amarouch
Electronica-b minor crush (2020)
for 21 musicians



CONCERT 8.30 pm

Malte Giesen
1. Massenprozession (Covid-19-Fassung, 2020)
for ensemble


Francesca Verunelli sitting at the piano (2017/19)
for flute and piano


Further concert and ticket information: