Awards Ceremony

On June 7, 2019 the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation awarded the Ernst von Siemens Music Prize to the composer Rebecca Saunders. The composer, conductor and culture manager Peter Ruzicka, Chairman of the Board of Supervisors and Member of the Bavarian Academy of Fine Arts was presenting the award during a musical ceremony at the Prinzregententheater in Munich..

The laudatory speech was given by Marco Blaauw, who as a trumpeter has been collaborating with the composer for more then 20 years. Rebecca Saunders was "receiving this award for her incredible oeuvre. From Behind the Velvet Curtain to Scar, her work has gone through gradual changes without ever losing the essence of her voice, staying true to her musical DNA. Every piece seems an act of courage, finding questions that surround the human condition, which is fragile and fallible. It gives her music an honesty and truth that is not necessarily always beautiful", Blaauw said.

Annesley Black, Ann Cleare and Mithatcan Öcal were awarded the Composers' Prizes.

The Ensemble Musikfabrik under the baton of Enno Poppe performed Saunders' piece Skin (2016) for soprano (Juliet Fraser) and 13 instruments. The Cologne-based Ensemble also performed a world premiere by Mithatcan Öcal, fragments of Annesley Black's multimedia piece tolerance stacks as well as on magnetic fields by Ann Cleare, a piece for large ensemble, devided in three groups.

The complete awards ceremony was streamed live at and
This is made possible due to a cooperation of Bayerischer Rundfunk and EvS Musikstiftung.